Skip to content

N54 · turbo geometry

You think a 19T
is a 19T?

“19T” names a compressor wheel — about 46 mm in, 58 mm out. It says nothing about the turbine spinning it, the housing around that, the bearings, or the blade count. On the N54 the same 19T badge sits on TD04L and TD04HL turbines whose swept discs differ by more than 20% — and they do not drive the same.

Reviewed by Justin, Owner & BMW calibration specialist · Synergy BMW Tuning · Updated September 2026

The short answer

“19T” is a compressor-wheel family, not a turbo. It describes a wheel roughly 46 mm at the inducer and 58 mm at the exducer, in a 6+6 billet pattern. It says nothing about the turbine wheel, the turbine housing, the bearing system, the blade count or the wastegate — and on the N54, “19T” turbos ship on at least two different Mitsubishi turbine architectures, TD04L and TD04HL, plus custom wheels. Same compressor badge, different turbo.

This matters because the turbine side sets spool, drive pressure, top-end flow and how boost tapers to redline. Two turbos sold as “N54 19T” can share a compressor wheel to the millimetre and still make their power in different places, need different wastegate setups, and tolerate different RPM. Below, every dimension is graded for where it comes from — manufacturer-published, independently measured, calculated, modelled, inferred or unknown — because a lot of the numbers people repeat about these turbos are not actually published anywhere.

What ‘19T’ actually means

Mitsubishi’s aftermarket compressor wheels are sold on a “T” ladder — 14T, 15T, 16T, 17T, 19T, 20T and up. The number tracks the compressor wheel’s diameter. It is a real, consistent size scale, and for the compressor it is genuinely informative: VIV, Arashi and Tomioka all quote ~46 / 58 mm for their 19T wheels, and Tomioka lists 46.02 mm at the inducer specifically.

35.6 / 46mm
OEM 10T compressor, inducer / exducer
Independently measured
46 / 58mm
19T compressor, inducer / exducer
Manufacturer-published
62.9
19T compressor trim (calc.)
Calculated here

Compressor

What the 'T' number scales with

Independently measured
OEM 10T16T19T0mm20mm40mm64mm
  • Inducer (mm)
  • Exducer (mm)
How to read it — the “T” designation tracks the compressor wheel’s inducer and exducer diameter. It is a real, consistent size ladder — for the compressor.
OEM 10T is community-measured; 16T and 19T are Tomioka’s published figures and match VIV and Arashi’s ~46 / 58 mm for the 19T.

Notice the trims: the OEM 10T works out to 59.9 and the 19T to 62.9. The 19T is not a radically different shape of wheel — it is a bigger version of a similar shape. Which brings up the trap in the next section.

Why a compressor number can’t define the turbine

The compressor and turbine are two separate wheels on the two ends of one shaft, each in its own housing. Mitsubishi fits a given compressor wheel across multiple centre sections and multiple turbine wheels. So “19T” pins down one end of the turbo and leaves the other end — the end that faces the exhaust and decides how the turbo behaves under load — completely open.

19T compressor vs OEM 10T — the geometry

Calculated here
Inducer diameter
+29.2%
Inducer circle area
+67%
Exducer diameter
+26.1%
Exducer circle area
+59%

A 19T inducer is about 29.2% larger in diameter than a stock 10T, which is about 67% more area — area scales with the square of diameter. That is a geometric fact. It is not a claim that a 19T flows 67% more air. Real airflow comes off a compressor map and a gas stand, not a circle-area sum.

Geometry

A 19T is +29% bigger, not +67% — depends what you measure

Calculated here
0%20%40%60%80%Inducer ØCircumferenceInducerareaExducerarea+29.2%+29.2%+67%+59%
How to read it — all four bars describe the same step from OEM 10T to 19T. Diameter grows ~29%; area grows with the square of that, ~67%. Neither number is airflow.
Worked from the measured diameters: area = π·(Ø/2)². The temptation is to read “+67% area” as “+67% flow” — it is not. Actual airflow depends on the whole compressor map, the housing and the pressure ratio, and is only known from a gas-stand or a dyno.

TD04L vs TD04HL turbine architecture

Both are Mitsubishi TD04-family turbine ends. The headline difference is the turbine wheel. For the primary comparison below we use the two vendors’ own published dimensions — VIV’s for the TD04L, Arashi’s for the TD04HL — set alongside the wider MHI family for context:

TD04-family turbine wheel dimensions — VIV's and Arashi's own published figures for the TD04L and TD04HL rows; OEM and TD04H are community-measured MHI references
TurbineInducerExducerBladesEvidence
OEM N54 (TD03)40 mm34.9 mm9–11 (source-dependent)Independently measured
TD04L (VIV)47.2 mm41.2 mm9 (VIV)Manufacturer-published
TD04H52 mm44.2 mm9 or 11 (variant-dependent)Independently measured
TD04HL (Arashi)50 mm45.6 mm9 (Arashi) / 11 (Tomioka)Manufacturer-published
FrankenTurbo “Super-TD04”55 mm47 mm9 mixed-flow (MAR-M246)Manufacturer-published

There is also a mechanical tell that the two are not interchangeable at the bench: the TD04L turbine uses a 5 mm heat shield and the TD04HL a 13 mm one. You cannot press a TD04HL wheel into a TD04L centre section and call it done — the CHRA hardware differs.

True-scale comparison

TD04L vs TD04HL turbine wheel, to scale

Manufacturer-published
TD04HL (Arashi)Ø50 mm · 1963.5 mm²TD04L (VIV) · Ø47.2 mm+ 12.2% swept disc area
2D · true scale
How to read it — both wheels are drawn to the same scale. “Slide inside” drops the smaller wheel into the larger one and shades the disc area the bigger wheel adds.
Wheels drawn from VIV’s and Arashi’s own published inducer diameters (47.2 mm and 50 mm). The WebGL view lets you rotate and zoom; the 2D view carries the same geometry for print, small screens and reduced-motion. Blade shapes are schematic.

The geometry, calculated

TD04HL turbine vs TD04L — worked from VIV's and Arashi's published diameters

Calculated here
Inducer diameter
+5.9%
Inducer disc area
+12.2%
Exducer diameter
+10.7%
Exducer disc area
+22.5%
TD04L wheel trim
76.2
TD04HL wheel trim
83.2

Arashi’s TD04HL turbine is about 5.9% larger in diameter and roughly 22.5% larger in swept disc area than VIV’s TD04L. Unlike the 19T compressor step, this is not just a scaled-up copy of the same shape: trim moves from ~76.2 to ~83.2, so the TD04HL wheel is proportionally different, not only bigger. What that extra area and altered proportion buys is flow capacity and lower drive pressure at high RPM, which is an implication, not a measured airflow figure.

Turbine

The wheel the '19T' badge is silent about

Manufacturer-published
OEM TD03TD04LTD04HTD04HLSuper-TD040mm15mm30mm45mm60mm
  • Inducer (mm)
  • Exducer (mm)
How to read it — the compressor is fixed at 19T across VIV, Arashi and Tomioka. The turbine underneath it ranges from TD04L to a mixed-flow Super-TD04 — this is the spread that makes two “19T” turbos drive differently.
TD04L and TD04HL are VIV’s and Arashi’s own published dimensions for the wheels compared on this page; OEM TD03 and TD04H are community-measured MHI reference figures, and Super-TD04 is FrankenTurbo’s published dimension. A ~52 mm “TD04HL” you may see quoted elsewhere is closer to the separate TD04H wheel shown here than to the 50 mm wheel Arashi and Tomioka currently sell.

Independently measuredA note on the ~52 mm figure you may see elsewhere: it is closer to Mitsubishi’s separate TD04H reference wheel (52 / 44.2 mm, in the table above) than to the wheel Arashi and Tomioka actually sell as the N54 TD04HL-19T. Some TD04HL-family implementations may use a ~52 mm turbine inducer/exducer dimension depending on wheel generation and supplier — but that is not the wheel modeled in the VIV-vs-Arashi comparison above. This page uses Arashi’s own published 50 / 45.6 mm figure, which is the dimension currently sold under the “TD04HL-19T” name for the N54 (confirmed live on Tomioka’s listing too, which quotes the identical 45.6 / 50 mm pair).

Blade count and geometry

Turbine blade count is a design variable, not a fixed property of “TD04HL”. Arashi describes its 45.6 mm TD04HL turbine as a 9-blade wheel; Tomioka describes its 45.6 mm turbine as an 11-blade wheel. Both are selling a TD04HL-class hot side for the N54.

Blade count

9-blade vs 11-blade — the same wheel size, argued both ways

Modelled / illustrative

9-blade (Arashi)

11-blade (Tomioka)

How to read it — Arashi calls its 45.6 mm TD04HL turbine a 9-blade wheel; Tomioka calls its 45.6 mm turbine an 11-blade wheel. Fewer blades open up flow area between them and cut rotating mass; more blades guide the gas better and can help part-throttle response and noise.
Schematic blades, not the real aero profile. The point is only that blade count is a genuine design variable two builders can take opposite calls on for a turbine of the same diameter — one more reason the badge on the box does not settle how a turbo behaves.

Fewer blades open up throat area between the blades and reduce rotating mass, which helps a wheel accept flow and change speed. More blades guide the gas more completely, which can help efficiency and part-throttle manners. There is no universally right answer — which is the point. Two builders, same wheel diameter, opposite calls.

Turbine housing: A/R vs cm²

The turbine housing is the other half of the exhaust side, and it is described two incompatible ways. Garrett’s definition of A/R is “the inlet cross-sectional area divided by the radius from the turbo centreline to the centroid of that area.” Mitsubishi instead labels housings by throat area in cm² — the single narrowest cross-section. Those are different measurements taken at different places.

Housing

A/R and cm² measure different things

Modelled / illustrative
shaft centrelineARA/R ≈ 0.44A ÷ R, taken at the inlet

This housing ≈ 6 cm² / 0.44 A/R

Engineering inference

Middle housing: a compromise between spool and top-end that most 'street' N54 turbos aim for.

In this comparison: Tomioka publishes 4 cm² for its 16T and 6 cm² for its 19T; Arashi publishes 6 cm² / 0.41 A/R; RB says only “largest volutes and A/R”; the OEM housing’s A/R is not published at all.

How to read it — the shaded spiral is the volute. Switch lenses to see where A/R and where MHI’s cm² figure are taken from, and drag the slider to resize the housing.
Illustrative geometry. A/R is the inlet cross-section area A divided by the radius R from the shaft centreline to the centroid of that area, and it changes continuously around the volute. cm² as MHI uses it is a separate flow-area designation — just the throat area at the narrowest point, not the inlet A/R. Arashi states its own N54 housing as both “6 cm²” and “0.41 A/R” — one physical part, two labels, from one source. We do not have a primary source proving that pairing holds for other MHI cm² sizes, so treat the cm²/A/R figures below the anchor size as modelled estimates, not a confirmed conversion table — and never carry any of it to a Garrett or Precision housing, which reference A and R differently again.

Arashi publishes exactly “6 cm² / 0.41 A/R” for its own N54 housing — the same physical part, labelled both ways by the same manufacturer. That pairing is credible because it comes from one source describing one part. It is not evidence of a general cm²-to-A/R formula: we do not have a primary source proving that other MHI housing sizes (4, 5, 7 or 8 cm²) convert to any particular A/R the same way, and cm² and A/R are measured at different places on a housing — the narrowest throat versus the inlet, referenced to the centreline — even within one maker’s own catalogue. Treat any cm²-to-A/R figure you see outside a single manufacturer’s own stated pairing as an estimate, not a conversion — and it never transfers to a Garrett, Precision or BorgWarner housing, which reference A and R differently again.

In this comparison, Tomioka publishes 4 cm² for its 16T and 6 cm² for its 19T; Arashi publishes 6 cm² / 0.41 A/R; RB says only that it uses “the largest housing volutes and A/R ratios” without giving a number; and the OEM N54 housing’s A/R is not published anywhere we could verify.

Exhaust flow, spool and drive pressure

Put a bigger turbine wheel in a bigger housing and, at a given airflow, the exhaust does not have to pile up as much ahead of the wheel to push the same power through it. That upstream pressure is drive pressure, and lower is generally better: less pumping work, fewer hot residuals trapped in the cylinder, more knock margin, a flatter torque curve to redline.

Exhaust side

Same 19T compressor, two turbine sizes, under load

Modelled / illustrative

TD04L 19T

Ø47.2 mm

Motion disabled by your system settings.
Relative drive pressure1.4

TD04HL 19T

Ø50 mm

Motion disabled by your system settings.
Relative drive pressure1.2
4,200
How to read it — drag the RPM slider. Blue particles pass through the wheel; red particles are backing up ahead of it — the “drive pressure” bar is that backup. The smaller TD04L wheel starts backing up at lower RPM.
This is an illustration, not CFD. It is a particle toy tuned so the flow-capacity difference between VIV’s ~47 mm TD04L wheel and Arashi’s ~50 mm TD04HL wheel is visible. Real drive pressure depends on the housing, the wastegate, the manifold and the exhaust behind it — none of which are modelled here. Use it for the shape of the trade, not for numbers.

The trade is spool. A smaller TD04L wheel and housing keep exhaust velocity high at low RPM, so the turbo lights earlier and the midrange hits harder. The larger TD04HL wheel wants a few hundred more RPM before it is fully awake. Neither is “better” — they are tuned for different jobs with the same compressor in front.

CHRA, bearings, thrust and wastegate

The centre section is where a few more “19T” variables hide. Explode the assembly and read each part:

Anatomy

What actually changes between two '19T' turbos

Modelled / illustrative

Turbine wheel

Manufacturer-published

The wheel the exhaust spins. This is the part the '19T' number says nothing about. VIV's TD04L is ~47 mm inducer; Arashi's TD04HL is ~50 mm; FrankenTurbo's mixed-flow 'Super-TD04' is 55 mm. Bigger wheel = more flow capacity up top, more rotating inertia, later spool. Blade count (9 vs 11) is a second variable builders disagree on.

How to read it — drag the slider to separate the assembly. Tap a part for what it is and how it varies across the real N54 hardware in this article. The drawing is a schematic cross-section, not a scale part.
Schematic only. Real turbine and compressor housings are 3D volutes; this is a flattened section to keep the parts legible.

Bearings

Manufacturer-published

Arashi & Tomioka: dual ceramic ball bearing. FrankenTurbo: 7.5 mm journal bearing + upgraded thrust. VIV & PURE: not stated. OEM: journal. The frame name does not tell you.

Wastegate

Engineering inference

Internal, vacuum-actuated, one per turbo. Most upgrades reuse the factory flap geometry, so a larger turbine housing can creep near redline unless preload or the port is addressed.

Thrust bearing

Engineering inference

The stock N54 thrust assembly is the usual failure point on hard-run stock turbos. Upgraded units use a larger thrust bearing; ball-bearing cartridges integrate it.

Shaft

Unknown

Only FrankenTurbo publishes a figure (7.5 mm, TD04-spec). For every other turbo here, shaft diameter and material are not disclosed — treat as unknown.

How the two actually drive

Trade-off

Spool vs top-end, for the same 19T compressor

Modelled / illustrative
2k2.2k2.4k2.6k2.8k3k3.2k3.4k3.8k4k4.2k4.4k4.8k5k5.2k5.4k5.8k6k6.2k6.4k6.8k7k0 psi7 psi14 psi26 psi
  • TD04L 19T
  • TD04HL 19T
How to read it — the smaller TD04L turbine lights earlier and hits harder in the midrange; the larger TD04HL turbine asks for a few hundred more RPM to spool but keeps pulling closer to redline with less drive pressure.
Illustrative curves, not dyno data. Drawn to show the shape of the trade the turbine choice makes. Real spool and taper depend on fuel, manifold, downpipe, wastegate setup and the calibration. See the wastegate duty guide for how this shows up in a log.

With the same 19T compressor, the TD04L hot side gives you an earlier, punchier delivery that fades sooner up top and asks more of the wastegate near redline — you will see wastegate duty climb and boost taper earlier in a log. The TD04HL hot side trades a little low-RPM urgency for a flatter curve, lower drive pressure and more room before the turbine is the limit, which is what a higher-power E-fuel build wants. If you want to see how that shows up channel by channel, the wastegate duty cycle guide and the datalog guide cover the exact traces.

Those curves are drawn to show the shape of the trade, not to predict your dyno. Fuel, manifold, downpipes, wastegate setup and the calibration all move them.

Why two ‘19T’ turbos behave differently

Here is the same comparison across real, currently-sold N54 hardware. Every figure is quoted from the vendor’s own listing; “not stated” means the vendor does not publish it. Prices are as listed at the time of writing.

N54 turbo upgrades compared: frame claim, wheels, bearing, housing, power claim and price
ProductFrame claimTurbineBearingHousingPower claimPrice
BMW / MitsubishiMitsubishi TD03~40 / 34.9 mmJournal + factory thrust assemblySmall integral housing, A/R not published~300–335 hp stock; ~450–500 whp is the practical ceiling on stock frames
VIV Auto Parts"TD04-19T""TD04L 9-blade … 41.2 × 47.2"Not statedNot stated"up to 775HP"$1,399
Arashi Dynamics"TD04HL-19T""45.6 / 50 mm (High Flow 9 Blades TD04HL … Inconel)""Dual-row ceramic ball bearing""6 cm² / 0.41 A/R"Not stated$1,937
Tomioka RacingTD04, stainless turbine housing"45.6 / 50 mm", "11-blade turbine wheel""Dual Ceramic Ball Bearing"19T: "6 cm² / 2.00 in" · 16T: "4 cm² / 1.80 in""Max Power" listed, figure not published$3,380
RB Turbo"the only true full TD04" — TD04 compressor housing and turbine housing"RB04XL-9 blade high-aero" custom turbine wheelNot stated"largest housing volutes and A/R ratios" — values not published"recommended for 650–700 whp goals"$3,499
FrankenTurbo"Super-TD04""55 mm / 47 mm Super-TD04 MixedFlow" 9-blade MAR-M246"7.5 mm TD04 specification journal bearings" + "TD04+ thrust bearing"A/R not published"700+ whp capability with excellent low-end responsiveness"$1,999
PURE Turbos"Upgraded billet compressor wheel", "upgraded CHRA", "OEM Housing""high-flow Turbine Wheel" — dimensions not publishedNot stated (OEM-style CHRA)"OEM Housing""650+ WHP Capable"; Daily 450–600 whp / Hi-Flow 600–700 whp$3,211

VIV Auto Parts BO-75V0-ZVL8 TD04-19T twin turbos

TD04L

Same 19T compressor as the others, but on a TD04L turbine — the smallest hot side in this group.

Arashi Dynamics N54 TD04HL-19T twin turbo, ball bearing

TD04HL-class

Same 19T compressor, a ~22% larger turbine disc, ball bearings, and a published housing size.

Tomioka Racing TR twin-turbo upgrade for BMW N54 (19T)

TD04HL-class

A 45.6 mm exducer like Arashi's, but Tomioka calls it 11-blade where Arashi calls it 9-blade.

RB Turbo RB Game Finishers, High Flow

custom / other

Also a 19T compressor, but a custom turbine wheel and a full TD04 turbine housing rather than a bored stock one.

FrankenTurbo F54 Super-TD04 twin turbos for BMW N54

custom / other

A TD04-frame N54 turbo that is neither a 19T nor ball bearing nor a stock-style turbine wheel.

PURE Turbos PURE Stage 2 BMW N54

OEM housing

Never marketed as a 19T. Keeps the OEM housings and upgrades the wheels and centre section — a different lever entirely.

Read that table by column, not by badge. The compressor row would be nearly identical — ~46 / 58 mm across VIV, Arashi and Tomioka. Everything that decides how the turbo drives is in the other columns, and every one of them varies.

How to compare turbos before buying

Before you put money down, get these in writing from the vendor:

  • Turbine wheel inducer and exducer diameter, and whether it is a TD04L, TD04H, TD04HL or custom wheel.
  • Turbine housing size — and whether it is quoted in A/R or cm², and measured how.
  • Bearing system: journal or ball, and the thrust bearing spec.
  • Blade count, compressor and turbine.
  • Wastegate setup for your target boost — preload, ported holes, or a larger port.
  • Compressor housing and inlet size, and whether it is a ported OEM housing or a full TD04 casting.
  • What fuel and supporting mods the power claim assumes.

Then match the answers to your goal: target power, target RPM, fuel, and how much low-end response you are willing to trade for top-end. A “19T” is a starting point for that conversation, not the end of it. If you want a second set of eyes on a specific turbo against a specific goal, that is what a build consult is for.

FAQ

Is a TD04HL 19T better than a TD04L 19T on an N54?
Neither is 'better' in the abstract — they are tuned for different power bands with the same 19T compressor. The TD04L wheel (about 47 mm inducer, per VIV) is the smaller turbine: it spools earlier and hits harder through the midrange, at the cost of more drive pressure and an earlier taper near redline. The TD04HL wheel (about 50 mm, per Arashi) needs a few hundred more RPM to light but holds boost closer to redline with less backpressure, which is what you want for a higher-power, higher-RPM build. Match the turbine to your target RPM and power, not to the badge.
What size is the stock N54 turbo?
The factory N54 runs twin Mitsubishi TD03-frame turbos. The compressor wheel is a '10T', roughly 35.6 mm inducer and 46 mm exducer; the turbine wheel is roughly 40 mm inducer and 34.9 mm exducer. They are journal-bearing units with a factory thrust assembly and an internal vacuum-actuated wastegate per turbo. On stock frames, ~450–500 whp is the practical ceiling before the thrust bearing and compressor become the limit.
Does '19T' mean the turbo is a TD04?
No. '19T' is only the compressor wheel designation — about 46 mm inducer, 58 mm exducer, 6+6 billet. That wheel has been fitted to TD03-frame hybrids and to TD04-frame turbos. In this comparison, VIV, Arashi, Tomioka and RB all sell a '19T' but pair it with different turbine wheels and housings, and FrankenTurbo's TD04-frame N54 turbo isn't a 19T at all — it uses a larger 51 mm compressor.
TD04L vs TD04HL: what is the actual difference?
Mostly the turbine wheel. VIV publishes its TD04L turbine at 47.2 mm inducer / 41.2 mm exducer (9-blade); Arashi publishes its TD04HL turbine at 50 mm / 45.6 mm (also 9-blade) — roughly 5.9% larger in diameter and about 22.5% larger in swept disc area. Trim moves too, from about 76.2 to about 83.2 — the TD04HL is not just a scaled-up TD04L, it is a proportionally different wheel. It also uses a taller heat shield (13 mm vs 5 mm), so it is not a drop-in wheel swap into a TD04L centre section. (A ~52 mm "TD04HL" some listings cite is not the 50 mm wheel Arashi and Tomioka currently sell for the N54.)
Will a bigger turbine housing cause boost creep on the N54?
It can. Most N54 hybrid and TD04 turbos reuse the factory wastegate flap and actuator geometry. Put that same small wastegate port in a larger turbine housing and, near redline, the flap may not bypass enough exhaust to hold the boost target down — that is boost creep. Builders address it with actuator preload, ported wastegate holes or, on full-TD04 castings, a larger port. It is worth asking any vendor how their wastegate is set up for your target boost.
Ball bearing or journal bearing for an N54 19T?
The 'T' number and the 'TD04' frame name tell you nothing about the bearing. In this group Arashi and Tomioka use dual ceramic ball bearings; FrankenTurbo uses 7.5 mm journal bearings with an upgraded thrust bearing; the OEM turbo is journal. Ball bearings spool marginally sooner and tolerate brief low-oil events better; journal bearings are cheaper, quieter and perfectly durable when oil supply is healthy. It is a real choice, not a spec you can infer.
How much power does an N54 19T make?
Vendor claims in this article range from VIV's 'up to 775 HP' to RB's '650–700 whp goals', and they are claims, not independently verified figures. Power depends on fuel (pump vs E30 vs E85), the turbine and housing behind the 19T compressor, the fuel system, the downpipes and the calibration. A 19T on a TD04L hot side making strong midrange on pump gas and a 19T on a TD04HL hot side chasing 650+ whp on E85 are different cars sharing a compressor size.
Why do two '19T' turbos spool and pull so differently?
Because the compressor is the only part they share. The turbine wheel (TD04L vs TD04HL vs a custom wheel), the turbine housing (a bored stock housing at 4–6 cm² vs a full TD04 casting), the bearing system, the blade count and the wastegate setup all differ between them, and each of those moves spool, drive pressure, top-end flow and boost taper. The badge on the box is a compressor label, not a behaviour spec.

Evidence and method

Every non-obvious number on this page is tagged with where it comes from:

Manufacturer-published
Stated by the part maker on the product page or spec sheet.
Independently measured
Measured off physical wheels and catalogued by the turbo community; cross-checked across independent listings.
Calculated here
Worked out on this page from the measured or manufacturer dimensions, with the formula shown.
Modelled / illustrative
A drawn approximation to make the geometry legible. Not a measurement and not a performance claim.
Engineering inference
What the physics leads us to expect. Directionally sound; the exact number is not established.
Unknown
No figure we are willing to publish. The manufacturer does not state it and it has not been measured.

What is solid, and what is not

  • Solid: the 19T compressor is ~46 / 58 mm across three vendors; VIV publishes its TD04L turbine at 41.2 / 47.2 mm and Arashi publishes its TD04HL turbine at 45.6 / 50 mm, both 9-blade — Tomioka’s live listing quotes the identical 45.6 / 50 mm pair for its 19T. TD04L is clearly smaller than TD04HL, and not just a scaled copy of it; bearing type, housing size and blade count differ across products that all say “19T”.
  • Unresolved: whether a ~52 mm “TD04HL” inducer some listings cite is a distinct wheel generation, a mislabelled TD04H, or a supplier variant — it is not the wheel Arashi and Tomioka currently sell and publish at 50 mm, so it is kept out of the primary comparison; the OEM N54 turbine housing A/R is not published; shaft dimensions are unpublished for every turbo except FrankenTurbo; the factory turbine blade count is reported inconsistently; a general MHI cm²-to-A/R conversion beyond Arashi’s own stated housing pairing is not established.
  • Not claimed: no airflow percentage, no spool RPM and no power figure is asserted as fact here. Vendor power claims (VIV “up to 775 HP”, RB “650–700 whp”) are quoted as claims and are not independently verified. The spool and flow visuals are modelled to show the shape of a trade-off, not to predict a result. No product photography is used as technical evidence — the geometry figures are drawn from the published and measured dimensions.

Sources

Reviewed by Justin, Owner & BMW Calibration Specialist at Synergy BMW Tuning. Updated September 2026. Found an error or have a measured dimension to add? Tell us and we will correct it.

Sizing a turbo for your N54?

Tell us your power target, fuel and supporting mods and we will tell you which turbine and housing actually fit the goal — before you buy.

Start a build consult →
Related